Take a hike!

I decided to take advantage of the good weather this weekend and head out to Raven Cliff Falls in north Georgia.  It’s a great little trail that follows Dodd Creek. While the main attraction are the falls at the end of the trail, there are several smaller waterfalls along the way.

I also took this opportunity to get my dog, Colt, used to his new Palisades Ruffwear Pack.  I was worried that it would take him a while to get used to it. Mainly because every time that I put it on him at home he would spend the whole time trying to bite it off. Luckily, with the distraction of the great outdoors, he didn’t even seem to notice that he had it on.

The trail is pretty wide and flat, making it an easy hike for most. Just the kind of thing I needed after being cooped up most of the winter. It wasn’t long before there was easy access to the water and Colt took the opportunity to get a drink.

Once I finally managed to get him back on the trail I decided that I would try letting him off his leash. Then I spent the next 10 minutes running after him trying to get him to stop. Good thing the trail is pretty flat, cuz if there is one thing I am not, it’s a runner. Lucky for me the only thing more fun than running away from me is the smell of a candy wrapper on the ground. Giving me just enough time to catch up with him and promptly put his leash back on, lean against a tree, take some big gulps of water, and catch my breath while cursing him out. Not that he cared, he just looked up at me like “That was fun. Can we do it again?” Uhm…no!

Eventually you will get to a big bend with a large rock on your left side and a bit of a drop off on the right. If you look closely you’ll notice that there’s a trail heading down the drop off. Naturally, I decided to go explore. I wasn’t sure how Colt would fare since it was pretty steep. But luckily his pack has a handle on top, this way any time that it got a little too steep I was able to use the handle to keep me from falling on my ass. What? You thought he would need help? Turns out he’s part mountain goat, cuz he had no trouble, not even with me using him to stabilize myself. And the view? Definitely worth it, Colt thought so too.

At the end of the five miles is Raven Cliff Falls. It’s a tall narrow fall with some very nice pools at the bottom, though a little cold right now. You can even make the hike to the top of the falls and once on top you can look right down the falls. Just make sure you watch your step going up and coming back down, it’s pretty steep and loose ground and I saw more than one person end up slipping and sliding down on their butt.

So next time you have an afternoon free and want to spend it outdoors I definitely recommend Raven Cliff Falls. For more info, including how to get there check out Georgia Trails: http://www.georgiatrails.com/gt/Raven_Cliff_Falls_Trail

Leave a Reply

